Neiphiu Rio Sworn-In as The New Chief Minister of Nagaland

Nagaland: NDPP chief Neiphiu Rio to take oath as new CM on Thursday

Nagaland: NDPP chief Neiphiu Rio to take oath as new CM on Thursday

Mr Rio is the 22nd Chief Minister of Nagaland and today he was sworn-in for the fourth time as the Chief Minister of Nagaland. The cabinet reiterated that the government would play the role of a facilitator in Naga peace process, and urged Naga groups that haven't yet done so to join ongoing negotiations.

The Governor has asked the newly-elected Chief Minister to prove his majority on the House floor on or before March 16.

BJPs Y Patton took oath as deputy chief minister.

"I have received "letters of support" in Rio's favour from 12 legislators of BJP, one letter from a Janata Dal (United) legislator and another from an independent legislator, besides the 18 legislators of NDPP", the governor told the reporters.

Earlier, Mr Rio, after the swearing in ceremony, said it is important that the first time a Government has been sworn in at a public place because it was also the venue of the historic declaration of the Statehood of Nagaland on December 1, 1963.

League tournaments will have a big impact on NCAA seeding
This is the eighth straight year of Turner Sports and CBS Sports' marriage of broadcasting the NCAA Tournament. The two-hour show will be in Atlanta, and there will be a live audience on hand as the teams are revealed.

Rio and outgoing chief minister TR Zeliang of the NPF staked claim separately to form the government, saying they have the requisite number of legislators in the 60-member assembly.

"'We have also chosen to conduct the function at this historic place in honour of the people we are to serve and to also remind ourselves publicly of the responsibilities that lie upon our shoulders", the chief minister said.

Rio, who was the chief minister of Nagaland from 2003 to 2014, has the experience of running a coalition. Governor P B Acharya administered the oath of office and secrecy to Rio and his council of 11 ministers.

NDPP secretary general Abu Metha said Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma were also expected to attend the ceremony.

With the BJP choosing to go with its pre-poll alliance partner the NDPP, Zeliang is set to be the leader of the opposition in the assembly.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.