Karni Sena celebrates Congress victory in Rajasthan bypolls

Rajasthan West Bengal bypoll results on Thursday big test for BJP Congress and TMC Left

Rajasthan West Bengal bypoll results on Thursday big test for BJP Congress and TMC Left

Congress candidate Vivek Dhakad won the Mandalgarh assembly seat by defeating his nearest rival, a BJP candidate, by almost 13,000 votes.

Counting of votes for the bypolls of three Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats in Rajasthan and West Bengal has begun on Thursday morning. In Mandalgarh Congress won 39.5% of the vote and the BJP 32 % votes. In the results declared on Thursday, Congress recorded comfortable victories in Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha seats as well as in Mandalgarh assembly (in Bhilwara district) seat. Party sources rejected the idea that the elections were a referendum on Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje who had campaigned extensively. Proud of each and every one of your.

Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) chief Sachin Pilot demanded Vasundhara Raje's resignation on moral ground after the defeat and said that the result was a mandate against her govt's policies.

Kashmir Solidarity Day Observed In Balochistan
The prime minister said Pakistan was united with people of Kashmir for their right of self-determination. JUI-F leader Ghulam Ali said: " Road to South Asia peace passes through Kashmir".

Congress winning both Lok Sabha bypolls, is a huge development for the party, as it had drawn blank in Rajasthan in 2014 polls. The Congress failed to win even one of the 25 seats in the desert state and the vote-share gap was 25 per cent. The data indicates that urban vote, generally held by the BJP, also shifted towards the Congress. In Rajasthan, the Congress has rebuilt its organization and its state leaders like Sachin Pilot and Ashok Gehlot enjoy greater credibility among cadre and masses. Here the party's candidate Raghu Sharma won by a margin of over 80,000 votes. In fact, in both these constituencies, the Congress candidates had established strong leads right from the initial rounds of counting, triggering celebration in state party offices.

The BJP lost Ajmer North by 6,975 votes, Ajmer South by 13,070 votes. But in Rajasthan, as in Gujarat where the BJP scraped through in late-2017, the two national parties will be in a straight contest. In the 2013 Assembly poll, the BJP won 162 seats, leaving the Congress with a mere 21. After the tenth round, Congress's Vivek Bhakad polls 31,882 votes. "TMC won both the Noapara and Uluberia by-elections". BJP candidate Sandip Banerjee got 38,711 votes while CPI-M's Gargi Chatterjee was at number three with 35,497 votes. The BJP candidate came second with 38,711 votes, while the CPI (M) candidate was slightly behind at third spot with 35,497 votes.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.