Vijay Rupani takes oath as Gujarat CM: Full list of ministers

Gujarat Vijay Rupani and his ministers take oath

Gujarat Vijay Rupani and his ministers take oath

Prime Minister Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, chief ministers of all BJP-ruled states and those governed by NDA associates are presented in the ceremony, Gujarat BJP chief Jitu Vaghani said.

Days after his re-nomination was endorsed by BJP legislators and party's team of central observers led by Arun Jaitley, Vijay Rupani took oath as chief minister of Gujarat on Tuesday morning. Rupani and other council of ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor O P Kohli at the Helipad Ground inside New Secretariat complex in Gandhinagar.

Prominent dignitaries who attended the oath-taking ceremony included BJP veteran LK Advani, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath and Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis. The party also announced that Nitin Patel will also continue as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state.

Christmas storm buries Erie, Pennsylvania in record amount of snow
This photo was snapped today in Duluth, Minnesota, where temperatures fell to minus-21 degrees with a wind chill of minus-44. In addition, temperatures will remain very cold with lows in the single digits and highs only around 10° through Wednesday.

Winning Gujarat for the sixth time in a row was crucial for the BJP as it showed people of the state, mostly traders, gave a thumbs-up to Modi's two key economic reforms - scrapping of higher denomination currency notes and introduction of a unified tax regime.

These include Nitin Patel from Mehsana in north Gujarat, Saurabh Patel from Botad, Jayesh Radadia from Jetpur and R C Faldu from Jamnagar in Saurashtra region, Kaushik Patel from Naranpura in Ahmedabad as Cabinet ministers. Prime Minister Narendra Modi who landed in Gandhinagar, is welcomed by party chief Amit Shah and all the BJP's chief ministers.

While the BJP party's performance in Gujarat was diminished as compared to last time, Congress emerged stronger, securing 77 seats. Six seats went to others, including three Independents.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.