Aussie's 1st T20I against India has started: Team India is in field

I am not writing myself off from 2021 World Cup says India women's cricket skipper Mithali Raj

I am not writing myself off from 2021 World Cup says India women's cricket skipper Mithali Raj

Indian captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to field first against Australia in the first T20 match of the series on Saturday.

The JSCA International Stadium Complex will be the setting when India and Australia face off in the first of three T20 matches.

Australia collapsed from 76-3 to 89-5. I'm getting more confidence day by day and game. It was far from the picture David Warner, Australia's stand-in captain, had pictured when he was asked to bat and expressed his inclination to do the same. Just three runs from his second over as Glenn Maxwell plays and misses and survives. For the visitors, Aaron Finch (42) was the only one who looked threatening at the top of the order but with little help coming from the middle-order, the Aussies were struggling at 118 for 8 when rain interrupted play.

In the last T20I bilateral series, India made a 3-0 clean sweep in Australia in January past year while they have lost only once out of the five series played between the two nations. Meanwhile, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel will take care of spin-bowling department.

Saudi king to make historic visit to Russian Federation
While discussions are at an early stage, some framework accords could be signed during King Salman bin Abdulaziz's trip. Saudi Arabia , the Arab world's largest economy and Opec's largest oil producer, is moving ahead full throttle.

David Warner is captaining the Australian team for the match as Steve Smith is out of the game with a shoulder injury. However, only two spinners are likely to find a place in the playing XI.

Rohit Sharma (11) struck a six and a four to begin the innings well but was castled by Nathan Coulter-Nile (1-20).

Australia meanwhile recalled their T20I specialists Moises Henriques, Daniel Christian, Andrew Tye and Glenn Maxwell.

There's no break for Virat Kohli or Rohit Sharma, and even MS Dhoni will continue to wicket-keep, even though they have brought in Dinesh Karthik as a stand-in keeper. Kuldeep Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah took two wickets each while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal also chipped in with a wicket each. When Kane Richardson was missing in the 5th ODI, the lack of intensity was manifested in the bowling department as spells from Cummins & Coulter Nile alone couldn't enforce the pressure on India.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.